Page 1 of 3

Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 11:36
by Lobby
preview.png
This plugin shows a new feature called "frame alignment area". Set this attribute to true, and you will be able to build your plugin with an areal tool (similar to "frame alignment" which lets you build in a linear way). In order to work you have to provide 16 frames which represent all neighbor combinations.

For fake hills our image looks like
fake_terrain.png
fake_terrain.png (8 KiB) Viewed 15397 times
And the code for three distinct heights

Code: Select all

[
  {
    "id":"$deco_fake_terrain00",
    "type":"decoration",
    "title":"Terrain level 1",
    "text":"",
    "width":1,
    "height":1,
    "frames":[{"bmp":"fake_terrain.png","w":32,"h":20,"count":16}],
    "frame alignment area":true
  },
  {
    "id":"$deco_fake_terrain01",
    "type":"decoration",
    "title":"Terrain level 2",
    "text":"",
    "width":1,
    "height":1,
    "frames":[{"bmp":"fake_terrain.png","w":32,"h":20,"count":16,"handle y":16}],
    "frame alignment area":true
  },
  {
    "id":"$deco_fake_terrain02",
    "type":"decoration",
    "title":"Terrain level 3",
    "text":"",
    "width":1,
    "height":1,
    "frames":[{"bmp":"fake_terrain.png","w":32,"h":20,"count":16,"handle y":20}],
    "frame alignment area":true
  }
]
Note:
I don't want to compete with other plugins in any way. The purpose of this plugin is to show how things can be done so you can use it in your own projects. For this reason you may use this plugin (images and json) however you want, also without giving credit to me or theo. Have fun :space

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 12:01
by Bearbear76
Wow....
Develpers are awesome :bc :fire

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 12:11
by Brody Craft
Well, Developers are developers

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 12:19
by malsa
"Add Diamond are Greedy Developers" former member 2017

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 13:09
by khadafi laidi
A"MAZE"ING!!!

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 13:52
by CommanderABab
I think you forgot

Code: Select all

"draw ground":true

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 13:55
by Lobby
Draw ground will lead to strange effects when you build it at the coast line :D

You should be fine if you build level 2 only within in level 1 and level 3 only within level 2. To be prepared for any cases you would have to adjust the graphics, but this plugin is more for demonstration.

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 14:19
by CommanderABab
That wasn't coast line. :)

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 16:49
by Kulche
Lol. Idk I can build a bridges above Hills. And idk it can burn. :fire
Screenshot_2017-07-16-15-47-55.png

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 16:56
by Lobby
I suggest to add the following

Code: Select all

"conductive":false, // So it doesn't conduct electricity
"destroyable":false, // So it cannot burn
...Did you notice that code boxes have syntax highlighting for default theme?

About the bridge, road overrides decoration, that's why it works.

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 16:57
by Kulche
Meh. It looks interesting.

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 17:01
by CommanderABab
I have a tree road that will go through them. :)

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 17:03
by Lobby
Placing trees on the hills isn't possible. One might modify the graphics to achieve something like that.

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 17:27
by KINGTUT10101
Despite having a plug-in with lower quality I will still be continuing to develop my terrain.

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 17:57
by CommanderABab
Lobby wrote:
16 Jul 2017, 17:03
Placing trees on the hills isn't possible. One might modify the graphics to achieve something like that.
Yes, but roads go through this area. I have a tree road! With moving trees! Hehe.

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 18:00
by CommanderABab
KINGTUT10101 wrote:
16 Jul 2017, 17:27
Despite having a plug-in with lower quality I will still be continuing to develop my terrain.
I think that the quality is quite good. I adjusted the graphics on my downloaded version. Looks great!

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 18:09
by KINGTUT10101
Could I see them in my thread or in a PM (if you want to show me)?

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 19:33
by Kulche
former member wrote:
16 Jul 2017, 16:58
Kulche wrote:
16 Jul 2017, 16:49
Lol. Idk I can build a bridges above Hills. And idk it can burn. :fire
Screenshot_2017-07-16-15-47-55.png
/off-topic question/
Are you from Poland?🇵🇱
Yes....? Something wrong?

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 23:01
by mdk_813
I understand that Lobby wanted to showcase the area-tool option here, however, I think the line-tool or a set of puzzle pieces would be better suited for the purpose of making fake hills.
The reason is that it would allow you to still build something on that "hill", because only the space of the hillsides would be occupied and not the tops. Also I would indeed use "draw ground" so that the pngs only need to include the actual hillsides and not a ground texture that could be noticable.

Re: Fake hills

Posted: 16 Jul 2017, 23:19
by Lobby
Interesting idea, that would be a real fake. Rotating would be a problem though.