Non real-time multiplayer

Share your ideas about possible future content here.
MaxOrlovsky
Settler
Reactions:

Non real-time multiplayer

Post by MaxOrlovsky »

Hi.

Before Lobby comes and say that it's a no-no hear me out please :)

I love TheoTown and playing the game for quite some time. I love sim-city games and TheoTown is the best there is! One thing that I miss though is that I would like to play with my wife. I recently introduced her to the game and she played few hours non-stop the first day.

I would like to suggest NON-REAL-TIME multiplayer to the game that shouldn't be hard to implement. As a developer myself I have understanding how everything works and realize that for 1 developer implementing multiplayer is an insanely hard task. And from perspective of the City Simulation game it's stupidly hard in terms of "game mechanic".

But TheoTown have small uniqueness in this regard that makes everything really easy. On a MAP of the world you see different location, where you can start your cities. Those can be manipulated by different people, once at a time. It means that both can't enter same city at the same time and do anything with it. But me and my wife for example can start building nearby cities and when she is offline, I can enter her town and do something with it.
So it's definitely not ideal "online" solution, but for "LAN"-kind multiplayer should be great. That only people with login/password can enter that specific world.

It can work this way:
- Players will need to have login/reg/authentication option, google can be used for that.
- Player 1 set up name/password for a world, where name is the World name. Like Theonia for example - should be unique of course. So first come first serve basis.
- Player 1 level up first location to open up nearby locations
- Player 2+ enter same login/password to enter the same world
- When any Player stop playing or exit city - JSON of that city is sent to server DB and stored there.