Fake hills

Plugins that are ground or trees

Moderators: KoalaGuy, Showcase Moderators

Forum rules
Showcase items that are ground plugins or of type tree.

In game Terrain Tab.
User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 2323
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34

Fake hills

Post by Lobby » Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:36

preview.png
This plugin shows a new feature called "frame alignment area". Set this attribute to true, and you will be able to build your plugin with an areal tool (similar to "frame alignment" which lets you build in a linear way). In order to work you have to provide 16 frames which represent all neighbor combinations.

For fake hills our image looks like
fake_terrain.png
fake_terrain.png (8 KiB) Viewed 955 times
And the code for three distinct heights

Code: Select all

[
  {
    "id":"$deco_fake_terrain00",
    "type":"decoration",
    "title":"Terrain level 1",
    "text":"",
    "width":1,
    "height":1,
    "frames":[{"bmp":"fake_terrain.png","w":32,"h":20,"count":16}],
    "frame alignment area":true
  },
  {
    "id":"$deco_fake_terrain01",
    "type":"decoration",
    "title":"Terrain level 2",
    "text":"",
    "width":1,
    "height":1,
    "frames":[{"bmp":"fake_terrain.png","w":32,"h":20,"count":16,"handle y":16}],
    "frame alignment area":true
  },
  {
    "id":"$deco_fake_terrain02",
    "type":"decoration",
    "title":"Terrain level 3",
    "text":"",
    "width":1,
    "height":1,
    "frames":[{"bmp":"fake_terrain.png","w":32,"h":20,"count":16,"handle y":20}],
    "frame alignment area":true
  }
]
Note:
I don't want to compete with other plugins in any way. The purpose of this plugin is to show how things can be done so you can use it in your own projects. For this reason you may use this plugin (images and json) however you want, also without giving credit to me or theo. Have fun :space
Attachments
fake_terrain.json
(730 Bytes) Downloaded 63 times
fake_terrain.zip
(259.66 KiB) Downloaded 158 times
...Have a nice stay

User avatar
Bearbear65
Inhabitant of a Supercluster
Reactions:
Posts: 3697
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 14:53
Location: Japan

Re: Fake hills

Post by Bearbear65 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:01

Wow....
Develpers are awesome :bc :fire
ImageJust my opinion

Online
User avatar
Brody Craft
Inhabitant of a Universe
Reactions:
Posts: 4383
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 11:15
Location: Messier - 42069
Contact:

Re: Fake hills

Post by Brody Craft » Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:11

Well, Developers are developers
"Huh..."
President Of R.O.V.
CEO Of LobbyNet
Back For Rapping In Da Studio!

User avatar
Fireout
Former FaizalGo112
Reactions:
Posts: 2765
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 17:40
Location: Longshire,Shireport
Contact:

Re: Fake hills

Post by Fireout » Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:19

"Add Diamond are Greedy Developers" Dusko 2017
]]]

User avatar
khadafi laidi
Inhabitant of a Continent
Reactions:
Posts: 1091
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 13:11
Location: ternate,indonesia

Re: Fake hills

Post by khadafi laidi » Sun Jul 16, 2017 13:09

A"MAZE"ING!!!
Fact about me:
-President of FINDONEZIA
-Plugin illustrator
-Motivator
-Comedian B)
-Indonesian translator (Stoped)
-I hate soccer :x

User avatar
CommanderABab
Inhabitant of a Universe
Reactions:
Posts: 4246
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12

Re: Fake hills

Post by CommanderABab » Sun Jul 16, 2017 13:52

I think you forgot

Code: Select all

"draw ground":true
378378Currently using beta 378. 378 What's new? Bus stop bug fixed! :)
ImageTelegram - t.me/
πŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈCommanderπŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈ

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 2323
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34

Re: Fake hills

Post by Lobby » Sun Jul 16, 2017 13:55

Draw ground will lead to strange effects when you build it at the coast line :D

You should be fine if you build level 2 only within in level 1 and level 3 only within level 2. To be prepared for any cases you would have to adjust the graphics, but this plugin is more for demonstration.
...Have a nice stay

User avatar
CommanderABab
Inhabitant of a Universe
Reactions:
Posts: 4246
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12

Re: Fake hills

Post by CommanderABab » Sun Jul 16, 2017 14:19

That wasn't coast line. :)
378378Currently using beta 378. 378 What's new? Bus stop bug fixed! :)
ImageTelegram - t.me/
πŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈCommanderπŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈ

User avatar
Kulche
Inhabitant of a Conurbation
Reactions:
Posts: 362
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 20:28
Location: Somewhere in Poland

Re: Fake hills

Post by Kulche » Sun Jul 16, 2017 16:49

Lol. Idk I can build a bridges above Hills. And idk it can burn. :fire
Screenshot_2017-07-16-15-47-55.png
Check my plugins!
...Urgh.. Does someone reading it?

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 2323
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34

Re: Fake hills

Post by Lobby » Sun Jul 16, 2017 16:56

I suggest to add the following

Code: Select all

"conductive":false, // So it doesn't conduct electricity
"destroyable":false, // So it cannot burn
...Did you notice that code boxes have syntax highlighting for default theme?

About the bridge, road overrides decoration, that's why it works.
...Have a nice stay

User avatar
Kulche
Inhabitant of a Conurbation
Reactions:
Posts: 362
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 20:28
Location: Somewhere in Poland

Re: Fake hills

Post by Kulche » Sun Jul 16, 2017 16:57

Meh. It looks interesting.
Check my plugins!
...Urgh.. Does someone reading it?

User avatar
danekbel
Former danek_danevich
Reactions:
Posts: 2275
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 9:33
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Fake hills

Post by danekbel » Sun Jul 16, 2017 16:58

Kulche wrote: ↑
Sun Jul 16, 2017 16:49
Lol. Idk I can build a bridges above Hills. And idk it can burn. :fire
Screenshot_2017-07-16-15-47-55.png
/off-topic question/
Are you from Poland?πŸ‡΅πŸ‡±
some text.

User avatar
danekbel
Former danek_danevich
Reactions:
Posts: 2275
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 9:33
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Fake hills

Post by danekbel » Sun Jul 16, 2017 17:00

Is it somehow possible to place trees on them?
some text.

User avatar
CommanderABab
Inhabitant of a Universe
Reactions:
Posts: 4246
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12

Re: Fake hills

Post by CommanderABab » Sun Jul 16, 2017 17:01

I have a tree road that will go through them. :)
378378Currently using beta 378. 378 What's new? Bus stop bug fixed! :)
ImageTelegram - t.me/
πŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈCommanderπŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈ

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 2323
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34

Re: Fake hills

Post by Lobby » Sun Jul 16, 2017 17:03

Placing trees on the hills isn't possible. One might modify the graphics to achieve something like that.
...Have a nice stay

User avatar
KINGTUT10101
1,000,000 inhabitants
Reactions:
Posts: 1253
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 22:50
Location: 'Merica
Contact:

Re: Fake hills

Post by KINGTUT10101 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 17:27

Despite having a plug-in with lower quality I will still be continuing to develop my terrain.

User avatar
CommanderABab
Inhabitant of a Universe
Reactions:
Posts: 4246
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12

Re: Fake hills

Post by CommanderABab » Sun Jul 16, 2017 17:57

Lobby wrote: ↑
Sun Jul 16, 2017 17:03
Placing trees on the hills isn't possible. One might modify the graphics to achieve something like that.
Yes, but roads go through this area. I have a tree road! With moving trees! Hehe.
378378Currently using beta 378. 378 What's new? Bus stop bug fixed! :)
ImageTelegram - t.me/
πŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈCommanderπŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈ

User avatar
CommanderABab
Inhabitant of a Universe
Reactions:
Posts: 4246
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12

Re: Fake hills

Post by CommanderABab » Sun Jul 16, 2017 18:00

KINGTUT10101 wrote: ↑
Sun Jul 16, 2017 17:27
Despite having a plug-in with lower quality I will still be continuing to develop my terrain.
I think that the quality is quite good. I adjusted the graphics on my downloaded version. Looks great!
378378Currently using beta 378. 378 What's new? Bus stop bug fixed! :)
ImageTelegram - t.me/
πŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈCommanderπŸ†ŽοΈπŸ†ŽοΈ

User avatar
KINGTUT10101
1,000,000 inhabitants
Reactions:
Posts: 1253
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 22:50
Location: 'Merica
Contact:

Re: Fake hills

Post by KINGTUT10101 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 18:09

Could I see them in my thread or in a PM (if you want to show me)?

User avatar
Kulche
Inhabitant of a Conurbation
Reactions:
Posts: 362
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 20:28
Location: Somewhere in Poland

Re: Fake hills

Post by Kulche » Sun Jul 16, 2017 19:33

danekbel wrote: ↑
Sun Jul 16, 2017 16:58
Kulche wrote: ↑
Sun Jul 16, 2017 16:49
Lol. Idk I can build a bridges above Hills. And idk it can burn. :fire
Screenshot_2017-07-16-15-47-55.png
/off-topic question/
Are you from Poland?πŸ‡΅πŸ‡±
Yes....? Something wrong?
Check my plugins!
...Urgh.. Does someone reading it?

mdk_813
Inhabitant of a Megalopolis
Reactions:
Posts: 553
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:38
Location: Germany

Re: Fake hills

Post by mdk_813 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 23:01

I understand that Lobby wanted to showcase the area-tool option here, however, I think the line-tool or a set of puzzle pieces would be better suited for the purpose of making fake hills.
The reason is that it would allow you to still build something on that "hill", because only the space of the hillsides would be occupied and not the tops. Also I would indeed use "draw ground" so that the pngs only need to include the actual hillsides and not a ground texture that could be noticable.
My Plugins: Link

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 2323
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34

Re: Fake hills

Post by Lobby » Sun Jul 16, 2017 23:19

Interesting idea, that would be a real fake. Rotating would be a problem though.
...Have a nice stay

mdk_813
Inhabitant of a Megalopolis
Reactions:
Posts: 553
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:38
Location: Germany

Re: Fake hills

Post by mdk_813 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 23:33

Lobby wrote: ↑
Sun Jul 16, 2017 23:19
Interesting idea, that would be a real fake. Rotating would be a problem though.
No, not really, for puzzle pieces you would just need 4 frames for every piece. (4 Straights, 4 inner corners, 4 outer corners, maybe 4 endpieces). Look at my seawalls, they are done exactly like that. Basically they are fake hillsides giving the impression of 3D that happen to look like walls. And it works on land just as good as on water. The problem is to make the fake 3D convincing, but thats doable too.
My Plugins: Link

mdk_813
Inhabitant of a Megalopolis
Reactions:
Posts: 553
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:38
Location: Germany

Re: Fake hills

Post by mdk_813 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 23:51

mdk_813 wrote: ↑
Sun Jul 16, 2017 23:33
Lobby wrote: ↑
Sun Jul 16, 2017 23:19
Interesting idea, that would be a real fake. Rotating would be a problem though.
No, not really, for puzzle pieces you would just need 4 frames for every piece. (4 Straights, 4 inner corners, 4 outer corners, maybe 4 endpieces). Look at my seawalls, they are done exactly like that. Basically they are fake hillsides giving the impression of 3D that happen to look like walls. And it works on land just as good as on water. The problem is to make the fake 3D convincing, but thats doable too.
Look at this:
It is an unfished set of sunken highway walls.
It is just the same principle as fake hills, only the design would need to be different. (But you already have all the necessary designs up there. You would only need to erase the ground textures to make them blend in better) And rotation works fine, too. The only problem is that the distances between the different levels can differ (compare the distances of the second level to the lower levels in both pictures) this is caused by the fact that the designs need to be located at the respective borders of the 1x1 tile so that they can align with roads at the bottom of the walls. But I can live with that.
Attachments
SHW_wall_example1.png
SHW_wall_example2.png
My Plugins: Link

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 2323
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34

Re: Fake hills

Post by Lobby » Sun Jul 16, 2017 23:59

Neat :)
...Have a nice stay

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest