Page 1 of 2

Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 02:13
by mdk_813
Hi,
I would like to change the texture of the raised railway tracks.
Could you give me the texture of that railway (and the railway station) so that I have a basis for that rework?
Also: What would I have to put into the jsons of the tracks and the station in order to replace the normal railroad with my version, while maintaing the original functionality?

Thank you!

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 05:40
by 22Alpha
Mind if I also request if you could do a slightly hill-elevated rail road tracks. I mean:

/+-+\ - front view
____
///// - side view


where:

/\ --> the slight elevation

+ --> wheel track

- --> space between the wheel track


Thank you.

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 12:07
by Josh
Here you have it
trains.png
trains.png (47.54 KiB) Viewed 4254 times
I don't know how the code works of it, but it looks difficult for sure! And don't forget to credit Lobby & theo

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 12:56
by CommanderABab
That's not complete, as the piles aren't provided.

The rail station is rotation aware and not pluginable currently I believe.

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 14:09
by mdk_813
Thanks guys.
So the piles are build into the game and placed with coordinates, therefore I can't change their texture, right?
But at least I could change the texture of the rails themselves with the image above. Is that correct?

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 14:28
by CommanderABab
The piles frames can be replaced too, they're just not in the above image.

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 14:48
by mdk_813
Okay, but I'm still not sure how to do it.
Let's say I rework the rails in the image provided by Josh, wouldn't I have to somehow define that image in the json, too?

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 15:57
by CommanderABab
Yes, you would provide the frames via "bmp" files like for roads but following the plan above. 16 bed frames, 16 side frames.

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 16:25
by mdk_813
Alright, and then I would use the id from the json that you've sent me, and set "override" true?

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 16:31
by CommanderABab
You can use any id you choose.

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 17:04
by mdk_813
Thank you. I will try it.

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 18:41
by mdk_813
Hm, so I tried it like this:

Code: Select all

[ 
  { 
    "id":"railtracks_grey_mdk_813", 
    "type":"rail",
    "author":"mdk_813, Lobby and Theo", 
    "frames":
[{"bmp":"tracks_Grey.png","x":512,"y":822,"w":32,"h":21,"move y":-16,"count":16},{"bmp":"tracks_Grey.png","x":512,"y":843,"w":32,"h":21,"move y":-16,"count":16}], 
    "on ground":false, 
    "pile frames":[{"x":512,"y":1312,"w":32,"h":42}], 
    "pile height":21, 
    "pile distance":4, 
    "price":100, 
    "monthly price":1 
  }
]
And I provided the image below.
tracks_Grey.png
tracks_Grey.png (99.09 KiB) Viewed 4195 times

But for some reason, it doesn't work in the game. It just builds the poles and nothing else :(
Any ideas?

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 19:34
by CommanderABab
mdk_813 wrote:
14 Oct 2017, 18:41
Hm, so I tried it like this:

Code: Select all

[ 
  { 
    "id":"railtracks_grey_mdk_813", 
    "type":"rail",
    "author":"mdk_813, Lobby and Theo", 
    "frames":
[{"bmp":"tracks_Grey.png","w":32,"h":21,"handle y":-16,"count":16},{"bmp":"sides_Grey.png","w":32,"h":21,"handle y":-16,"count":16}], 
    "on ground":false, 
    "pile frames":[{"x":512,"y":1312,"w":32,"h":42}], 
    "pile height":21, 
    "pile distance":4, 
    "price":100, 
    "monthly price":1 
  }
]
And I provided the image below.
tracks_Grey.png


But for some reason, it doesn't work in the game. It just builds the poles and nothing else :(
Any ideas?
Try the code above as I edited it.
Screenshot_20171014-125731.jpg
Tracksgrey1.png not red.
Screenshot_20171014-130512.jpg
Sidesgrey1.png not red.

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 19:41
by CommanderABab

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 20:07
by mdk_813
@CommanderABab

My latest try is this with the image below:

Code: Select all

[ 
  { 
    "id":"railtracks_grey_mdk_813", 
    "type":"rail",
    "author":"mdk_813, Lobby and Theo", 
    "frames":
[{"bmp":"tracks_Grey.png","count":16,"w":32}],
    "on ground":false, 
    "pile frames":[{"x":512,"y":1312,"w":32,"h":42}], 
    "pile height":21, 
    "pile distance":4, 
    "price":100, 
    "monthly price":1 
  }
]
The game crashes as soon as I try to draw the rails

Before I tried a version with "width" and "height" each set to 1 (same negative result) and a version without "count" and "w", i.e. only with the "bmp", this version crashes the game as soon as you try to scroll to it in the menu.

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 21:24
by CommanderABab
mdk_813 wrote:
14 Oct 2017, 20:07
@CommanderABab

My latest try is this with the image below:

Code: Select all

[ 
  { 
    "id":"railtracks_grey_mdk_813", 
    "type":"rail",
    "author":"mdk_813, Lobby and Theo", 
    "frames":
[{"bmp":"tracks_Grey.png","count":16,"w":32}],
    "on ground":false, 
    "pile frames":[{"x":512,"y":1312,"w":32,"h":42}], 
    "pile height":21, 
    "pile distance":4, 
    "price":100, 
    "monthly price":1 
  }
]
The game crashes as soon as I try to draw the rails

Before I tried a version with "width" and "height" each set to 1 (same negative result) and a version without "count" and "w", i.e. only with the "bmp", this version crashes the game as soon as you try to scroll to it in the menu.

The rail drawer is expecting 32 frames! Don't leave the other 16 out. :)

Code: Select all

[ 
  { 
    "id":"railtracks_grey_mdk_813", 
    "type":"rail",
    "author":"mdk_813, Lobby and Theo", 
    "frames":
    [
{"bmp":"tracks_Grey.png","count":16,"w":32},
{"bmp":"sides_Grey.png",,"count":16,"w":32}
    ],
    "on ground":false, 
    "pile frames":[{"x":512,"y":1312,"w":32,"h":42}], 
    "pile height":21, 
    "pile distance":4, 
    "price":100, 
    "monthly price":1 
  }
]
And if you don't want to color the sides:

Code: Select all

[ 
  { 
    "id":"railtracks_grey_mdk_813", 
    "type":"rail",
    "author":"mdk_813, Lobby and Theo", 
    "frames":
    [
{"bmp":"tracks_Grey.png","handle y":-16,"count":16,"w":32},
{"x":512,"y":843,"w":32,"h":21,"move y":-16,"count":16} 
    ],
    "on ground":false, 
    "pile frames":[{"x":512,"y":1312,"w":32,"h":42}], 
    "pile height":21, 
    "pile distance":4, 
    "price":100, 
    "monthly price":1 
  }
]

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 21:47
by mdk_813
@CommanderABab
Thanks, but the last code you posted still won't work as intended.
It doesn't crash anymore and the poles and sides are displayed correctly, but the grey railtracks are on groundlevel now.

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 22:08
by CommanderABab
Hey, try changing the handle y:-16 to :16 then. :) or -37.

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 22:22
by mdk_813
@CommanderABab
Cool, thank you for your help. It works now as intended with "y"=13 :)

Re: Raised Railroad texture

Posted: 14 Oct 2017, 22:22
by CommanderABab
Great!