Water

Plug-in related stuff can be discussed here.

Moderator: Plugin Moderators

User avatar
KINGTUT10101
1,000,000 inhabitants
Reactions:
Posts: 2220
Joined: 07 Jul 2016, 22:50
Location: 'Merica
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta
Contact:

Plugin Creator

Platform

Water

#1

Post by KINGTUT10101 »

I would like to know if I could use the water tile texture for my plug-ins (If I use it I'll credit the creator). If yes, then could someone send me the texture?

User avatar
KINGTUT10101
1,000,000 inhabitants
Reactions:
Posts: 2220
Joined: 07 Jul 2016, 22:50
Location: 'Merica
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta
Contact:

Plugin Creator

Platform

#2

Post by KINGTUT10101 »

Yes, but it doesn't work for me when I'm making a ground plug-in.

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3705
Joined: 26 Oct 2008, 12:34
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Platform

#3

Post by Lobby »

Have fun 8)
Image

As we might modify the textures in the future you might have to update your plugin then.

User avatar
KINGTUT10101
1,000,000 inhabitants
Reactions:
Posts: 2220
Joined: 07 Jul 2016, 22:50
Location: 'Merica
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta
Contact:

Plugin Creator

Platform

#4

Post by KINGTUT10101 »

Thanks!

User avatar
KINGTUT10101
1,000,000 inhabitants
Reactions:
Posts: 2220
Joined: 07 Jul 2016, 22:50
Location: 'Merica
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta
Contact:

Plugin Creator

Platform

#5

Post by KINGTUT10101 »

I've run into a problem. They don't appear in the game. They will still generate in the background, but I can't find them in any building tabs.

User avatar
KINGTUT10101
1,000,000 inhabitants
Reactions:
Posts: 2220
Joined: 07 Jul 2016, 22:50
Location: 'Merica
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta
Contact:

Plugin Creator

Platform

#6

Post by KINGTUT10101 »

Image
Any suggestions on how to solve this?

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 11107
Joined: 07 Jun 2016, 21:12
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

#7

Post by CommanderABab »

Code: Select all

"type":"water,"

User avatar
KINGTUT10101
1,000,000 inhabitants
Reactions:
Posts: 2220
Joined: 07 Jul 2016, 22:50
Location: 'Merica
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta
Contact:

Plugin Creator

Platform

#8

Post by KINGTUT10101 »

Adding those to the plug-in made it disappear. I'll just add my json onto this post so someone can tell me what I did wrong

Code: Select all

[
   {
      "author": "Kingtut 101 and TheoTown (Water Texture)",
      "frames": [
         {
            "bmp": "searock1.png"
         },
         {
            "bmp": "searock2.png"
         },
         {
            "bmp": "searock3.png"
         }
      ],
      "height": 1,
      "id": "oceanrocks.kt101",
      "needs land": false,
      "needs water": true,
      "price": 1000,
      "text": "Some rocks for your oceans.",
      "title": "Sea Rocks",
      "type": "water",
      "width": 1
   }
]

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 11107
Joined: 07 Jun 2016, 21:12
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

#9

Post by CommanderABab »

Which png file is which? It matters. :)

User avatar
KINGTUT10101
1,000,000 inhabitants
Reactions:
Posts: 2220
Joined: 07 Jul 2016, 22:50
Location: 'Merica
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta
Contact:

Plugin Creator

Platform

#10

Post by KINGTUT10101 »

In order from 1 to 3:
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3705
Joined: 26 Oct 2008, 12:34
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Platform

#11

Post by Lobby »

The pivot point is not set properly. The default behavior here works well for buildings and normal ground, but not for water, which now has to be moved 4 pixels down. To achieve that I recommend to set the pivot point manually. Here, this will look like

Code: Select all

...
{"bmp": "searock1.png", "handle y": 4},
...
We don't have to set handle x as it's 0 by default.

User avatar
KINGTUT10101
1,000,000 inhabitants
Reactions:
Posts: 2220
Joined: 07 Jul 2016, 22:50
Location: 'Merica
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta
Contact:

Plugin Creator

Platform

#12

Post by KINGTUT10101 »

They still don't appear in the game, but thanks for the help with the texture.

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3705
Joined: 26 Oct 2008, 12:34
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Platform

#13

Post by Lobby »

That's a problem as for water only one object can be used at the same time. I would recommend to use type "decoration" instead. Why does it have to be of type water?

User avatar
Mg3094066
Inhabitant of a Supercluster
Reactions:
Posts: 3223
Joined: 28 May 2017, 01:50
Location: Venezuelan Republic of Mexico
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Water

#14

Post by Mg3094066 »

I wish the ships could pass down the bridges and cables. I've done a new survey about a new way to generate maps

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 11107
Joined: 07 Jun 2016, 21:12
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

#15

Post by CommanderABab »

I can get ýour rocks on water. You have to decide which one shows up the most. :)

User avatar
KINGTUT10101
1,000,000 inhabitants
Reactions:
Posts: 2220
Joined: 07 Jul 2016, 22:50
Location: 'Merica
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta
Contact:

Plugin Creator

Platform

#16

Post by KINGTUT10101 »

Lobby wrote:That's a problem as for water only one object can be used at the same time. I would recommend to use type "decoration" instead. Why does it have to be of type water?
So they generate in maps naturally.

User avatar
KINGTUT10101
1,000,000 inhabitants
Reactions:
Posts: 2220
Joined: 07 Jul 2016, 22:50
Location: 'Merica
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta
Contact:

Plugin Creator

Platform

#17

Post by KINGTUT10101 »

CommanderABab wrote:I can get ýour rocks on water. You have to decide which one shows up the most. :)
I would prefer the first one. Thanks for the help.

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3705
Joined: 26 Oct 2008, 12:34
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Platform

#18

Post by Lobby »

We might spawn some decorations in map creation :roll:

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 11107
Joined: 07 Jun 2016, 21:12
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

#19

Post by CommanderABab »

It involves placing bridges, so therefore would be in the transport tab, but at least you can place multiple tiles at once. :)

User avatar
Josh
Graphic designer
Reactions:
Posts: 2214
Joined: 11 Mar 2017, 19:20
Location: The Netherlands
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

#20

Post by Josh »

Lobby wrote:We might spawn some decorations in map creation :roll:
Maybe some fallen trees and some rocks

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Plug-In Discussion”