More texture space

Plug-in related stuff can be discussed here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Lobby
Developer of TheoTown
Reactions:
Posts: 1999
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34

More texture space

Post by Lobby » Sun Apr 30, 2017 13:05

Good news, with version 284 we will double the available texture space for plugins to 1024x2048 pixels.

That might be subject to change if we need the space in the future, but for now we have enough space so we can give it to you.

Online
User avatar
CommanderABab
Inhabitant of a galaxy city
Reactions:
Posts: 3251
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12

Post by CommanderABab » Sun Apr 30, 2017 14:17

That is great news!
333333Currently using beta 333. 333 :)
ImageTelegram - t.me/
๐Ÿ†Ž๏ธ๐Ÿ†Ž๏ธ๐Ÿ†Ž๏ธ๐Ÿ†Ž๏ธCommander๐Ÿ†Ž๏ธ๐Ÿ†Ž๏ธ

User avatar
BetterBear
Inhabitant of a solar system city
Reactions:
Posts: 2300
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:03
Location: I destroyed the timeline..
Contact:

Post by BetterBear » Sun Apr 30, 2017 14:31

What did that mean? I can make 8x16 tile plug in or something?
BEaRz ArE AmAZiNG. I Am FeElIng SlEepY..

User avatar
Lobby
Developer of TheoTown
Reactions:
Posts: 1999
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34

Post by Lobby » Sun Apr 30, 2017 14:39

It basically means that you can have more plugins now than before. If you didn't reach the limit yet you probably also won't reach it in the near future 8)

User avatar
Mayor Jeffrey IX
TheoTown Cartographer
Reactions:
Posts: 995
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 16:48
Location: Right here

Post by Mayor Jeffrey IX » Sun Apr 30, 2017 19:57

:shock:
Yay!
Or is it?
Using 295.

User avatar
Josh
Graphic designer
Reactions:
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 19:20

Post by Josh » Mon May 01, 2017 2:39

That is some great news! 8)
Website: http://theotownwiki.weebly.com
...Have a nice day :D . You discovered it.

User avatar
BetterBear
Inhabitant of a solar system city
Reactions:
Posts: 2300
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:03
Location: I destroyed the timeline..
Contact:

Post by BetterBear » Mon May 01, 2017 4:33

Lobby wrote:It basically means that you can have more plugins now than before. If you didn't reach the limit yet you probably also won't reach it in the near future 8)
I'm planning to make Empire State Building in real scale, so I'm asking'
Did that mean I can make plug ins double the size of the tallest building in game?
BEaRz ArE AmAZiNG. I Am FeElIng SlEepY..

User avatar
Lobby
Developer of TheoTown
Reactions:
Posts: 1999
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34

Post by Lobby » Mon May 01, 2017 9:49

No, that won't work. The maximum height of buildings is limited to 512px. The reason is that otherwise those buildings will disappear too early when you scroll them out at the bottom.

However, you could use a single animation with one frame to let your building look higher.

User avatar
Sometheotown mayor
Has uncountable inhabitants
Reactions:
Posts: 1587
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 21:37
Location: Somewhere in the middle of russia
Contact:

Post by Sometheotown mayor » Mon May 01, 2017 10:41

wait.
the height limit is 512px ? Isn't it 225 or something ?
Hello
I'm your average 14 y old boy who likes drinking water.

What else ?

User avatar
Lobby
Developer of TheoTown
Reactions:
Posts: 1999
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34

Post by Lobby » Mon May 01, 2017 10:57

Oops, you're right

User avatar
BetterBear
Inhabitant of a solar system city
Reactions:
Posts: 2300
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:03
Location: I destroyed the timeline..
Contact:

Post by BetterBear » Mon May 01, 2017 11:00

Lobby wrote:Oops, you're right
In Pixly, my Level T skyscraper uses 250 pixels..
And the height is 21.
BEaRz ArE AmAZiNG. I Am FeElIng SlEepY..

User avatar
Lobby
Developer of TheoTown
Reactions:
Posts: 1999
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34

Post by Lobby » Mon May 01, 2017 11:09

Maximum height is 32x8=256px and it's measured from the pivot point of the building. So a building with a big base size might have a higher image as source.

Anyway, as mentioned you can get around these limitations if you really want by using animations.

User avatar
BetterBear
Inhabitant of a solar system city
Reactions:
Posts: 2300
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:03
Location: I destroyed the timeline..
Contact:

Post by BetterBear » Mon May 01, 2017 11:22

Lobby wrote:Maximum height is 32x8=256px and it's measured from the pivot point of the building. So a building with a big base size might have a higher image as source.

Anyway, as mentioned you can get around these limitations if you really want by using animations.
Ok this might be an off topic but, how much pixels did Theo use for one floor? I use 7..
BEaRz ArE AmAZiNG. I Am FeElIng SlEepY..

User avatar
Lobby
Developer of TheoTown
Reactions:
Posts: 1999
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34

Post by Lobby » Mon May 01, 2017 11:31

You might count yourself, it varies :)

For example here it's 5.

User avatar
BetterBear
Inhabitant of a solar system city
Reactions:
Posts: 2300
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:03
Location: I destroyed the timeline..
Contact:

Post by BetterBear » Mon May 01, 2017 11:40

Ok, thanks :)
So that means, I'm gonna shrunk the floors of my empire state building so it can reach 101 floors.. Plus that tall white thing on top.. The floor of the tallest red TT apartment is 50, so its gonna take me so much work :lol:
BEaRz ArE AmAZiNG. I Am FeElIng SlEepY..

User avatar
Josh
Graphic designer
Reactions:
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 19:20

Post by Josh » Mon May 01, 2017 12:02

A pixel is a bit more than half a meter because people are 3 pixels
So, 7 pixels is around 4 meter
Website: http://theotownwiki.weebly.com
...Have a nice day :D . You discovered it.

User avatar
Josh
Graphic designer
Reactions:
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 19:20

Post by Josh » Mon May 01, 2017 12:02

Thats prettu big
Website: http://theotownwiki.weebly.com
...Have a nice day :D . You discovered it.

JRhodes
Villager
Reactions:
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 20:01
Location: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

Plug ins

Post by JRhodes » Sat May 06, 2017 20:23

Is there a page I can read to teach me about plug ins and how to use them?

Thanks

Online
User avatar
CommanderABab
Inhabitant of a galaxy city
Reactions:
Posts: 3251
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12

Post by CommanderABab » Sat May 06, 2017 20:26

333333Currently using beta 333. 333 :)
ImageTelegram - t.me/
๐Ÿ†Ž๏ธ๐Ÿ†Ž๏ธ๐Ÿ†Ž๏ธ๐Ÿ†Ž๏ธCommander๐Ÿ†Ž๏ธ๐Ÿ†Ž๏ธ

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest